MSJ Football lands 14 on All-HCAC list: Headlined by Jerry Porter who was named special teams MVP

MSJ Football lands 14 on All-HCAC list: Headlined by Jerry Porter who was named special teams MVP

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.- The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference today announced the 2018 football All-Conference list. The Mount's football team had an outstanding season, in head coach Tyler Hopperton's second year at the helm. Coming off consecutive campaigns of 6-4 the Lions rallied to an 8-2 record this season, and secured a share of the HCAC Championship. The championship was the fifth in program history, and first since 2009. Due to the HCAC's tiebreaker rules though Hanover will represent the HCAC in the NCAA DIII playoffs this season. 

The Lions today were recognized for their outstanding season, as 14 players were recognized as All-HCAC today. Headlining the team was this season's Special Teams Most Valuable Player, senior kicker/punter Jerry Porter (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder). Porter has been outstanding during his career at The Mount and this season was no different. Jerry led the HCAC this season with 61 points, and had the longest field goal in the conference this season a 45 yarder. As a punter he averaged 38.3 yards per punt, with 13 punts being downed inside the 20 yard line. 

The Lions were represented on the first team by nine players. Leading the way was the dynamic duo of Chaiten Tomlin (Mt. Orab, Ohio/Western Brown) and A.J. Glines (Harrison, Ohio/Harrison). Both Tomlin and Glines have their name all over the NCAA DIII statistical leaderboard, as well as the MSJ record book. Tomlin was second in the HCAC with 2983 passing yards, and was first in Touchdown passes. Glines finished the season with 76 receptions, 1074 receiving yards, and 14 touchdowns. He led the HCAC in both receptions and touchdowns and was second in yards. Sophomore tight end Paul Minor (Indianapolis, Ind./Warren Central) was the Lions other pass catcher on the first team. Minor started every game for the Lions, catching 15 passes with 4 touchdowns, while providing added blocking in the run game. The Lions offense was anchored this season by a pair of senior offensive lineman, who also both garnered first team honors. Cole Tepe (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) and Brad Murphy (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) were extremely important in front of Tomlin and the offense this season. 

The Mount's defense was the second most stingy in the HCAC this season allowing only 20.3 points per game, and led the conference with 17 interceptions. The Lions were also able to score four defensive touchdowns this season. Because of that stellar play a pair of senior defensive backs were named first team All-HCAC. Tyler Hannah (Cincinnati, Ohio/Summit Country Day) and Tavon Robertson (Louisville, Ky./Ballard) both had great 2018 campaigns. Robertson was second on the team with three picks this season, including a pick-6 against Franklin. He was also the Lions leading tackler this season with 70 stops. Hannah had another very good season in his final one in Delhi, securing two interceptions, and 16 pass breakups, while adding 55 tackles. 

Joining Porter from the Lions special teams was sophomore return ace Troy Speakman (Grove City, Ohio/Central Crossing), who a season ago was the DIII leader in yards per punt return. This year he followed it up with a 14.9 yard average, which was good for first in the HCAC and 14th in the nation. 

Four Lions found their name on the All-HCAC second team. Defensive lineman Cory Hardin (Louisville, Ky./Ballard) and Spencer Kandra (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder), linebacker Sean Sullivan (Covington, Ky./Holmes), and wide receiver Chase Pankey (Cincinnati, Ohio/Moeller). 

The Lions representative on the Christopher M. Ragsdale All-Sportsmanship team was senior saftey Peyton Williams (Cincinnati, Ohio/Norwood).