Search Follow us on Facebook Twitter RSS
Hall of Fame Inductees


Make your next Hall of Fame Nomination Here


Mount St. Joseph University will host the 2014 Athletic Hall of Fame dinner and awards ceremony on Friday, Oct. 24, 2014.

The Mount’s 2014 inductees will be announced in August, 2014.

Former Mount board member John Hayden will be presented with the Champion Award.

John Pont, the Mount’s first football coach, will be honored posthumously. His wife, Sandy Pont, will accept the Champion Award on behalf of the family.

Schedule of events -Sports Complex
5:30 p.m. - Athletic Hall of Fame Reception
6:30 p.m. - Dinner, Program, and Induction Ceremony

$45 per person (advanced payment to be determined)


Jane Siemer ’76 Jane Siemer

Jane Siemer has been involved in athletic competition her entire life. At the Mount she was a four-year starter on the 1972, 1973 and 1974 volleyball state finalist teams. She played an integral role on the 1975 team that won the state championship and played in the regional championship game. After college Jane coached volleyball and continued to play for such teams as the Ohio Valley Region AA Championship Teams, Great Lakes Regional Championship Teams, USA National Championship Teams, and US Global 50+ Team. She was named the Ohio Valley MVP in 1979, USA Volleyball National MVP five times and received All-American/All-Tournament honors 15 times at USA Volleyball National Tournaments. Jane taught physical education in Cincinnati Public Schools for 31 years. Over the years she has achieved many accolades such as the Master Sportswoman of the Year by the Greater Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Women’s Sports Association and induction into the Southwestern Volleyball Coaches Hall of Fame.   

Sue Holmes Vulhop ’79 Sue Holmes Vulhop

Sue Holmes Vulhop was excited to join the Mount’s outstanding volleyball team in 1975. She was a starter on the 1975 team that finished 13th in the nation, the 1976 team that finished seventh in the nation and the 1977 team that finished third in the nation. Her college career records include Best Blocker in 1975; Best Offensive Player Award in 1975, 1976, 1977; and an All-American in 1977. She was also nominated for Outstanding Woman Athlete of the year for Intercollegiate Athletes for Women. After graduation she competed in the United States Volleyball Association for a number of years. She was an assistant volleyball coach at the Mount, and served as the volleyball coordinator at St. Ignatius Loyola for 12 years, where she has coached both boys and girls. An employee of Hamilton County Developmental Disabilities Services since 1979, she is currently an intervention specialist at Margaret B. Rost School in Cincinnati.

DeAnn Schroeder Kiefer ’92 DeAnn Schroeder Kiefer

Over her four-year college basketball career, DeAnn Schroeder Kiefer recorded 1,135 points, 735 rebounds, 569 blocked shots, with a record of 91-21. She was an outstanding scorer and rebounder.  DeAnn was NAIA All District 22 as a junior and senior and was the district’s Co-Player of the Year as a senior. In 1992, she led the NAIA with 176 blocked shots and was a member of the All-Tournament NAIA Team. In her senior year, DeAnn led the Mount to the NAIA District 22 Championship and an eighth place seed in the NAIA National Tournament in Monmouth, Ore. She played a key role in the Mount’s 77-75 quarterfinals win over Northern Montana State University to advance to the Final Four. Today, DeAnn is a home health occupational therapist for the Visiting Nurse Association. She has been inducted into the Bishop Brossart High School Hall of Fame and the Northern Kentucky Sports Hall of Fame.

Michael T. Schueler Michael T. Schueler

This year the College of Mount St. Joseph proudly presents the first Champion Award to Mike Schueler, a former member of the Mount’s Board of Trustees and a long-time friend of the College.  A dedicated leader for the Mount for over two decades, Mike has served several terms as a member of the Board of Trustees and on a numerous committees. He supported such campaigns as the Forward Fund, Vision 2000 and Building Excitement. The Doris and Ted Schueler Courtyard in the Harrington Center and Schueler Field serve as lasting testaments to his devotion to the College and its students. He has been a devoted fan and supporter of the athletics program and our student-athletes. Behind the scenes he has quietly made it possible for students to travel by bus to NCAA playoff games, attend the Athletic Hall of Fame and a variety of other projects. Mike is president of Henkle-Schueler & Associates.

  Heartland Athletic Conference NCAA Mount St. Joseph University MSJ Lions