Search Follow us on Facebook Twitter RSS
Mount sophomore kicker Shane Kelly heads list of Lions' award winners

Friday, November 22, 2013
by Dane Neumeister

College of Mount St. Joseph sophomore kicker Shane Kelly (Cincinnati, OH/Turpin) heads a list of Mount players named to the annual All-HCAC football teams. Kelly was selected as the HCAC Special Teams Most Valuable Player and named to the First Team. Joining him on the First Team were teammates: Leonard Riston (Cincinnati, OH/Withrow), a junior wide receiver; Brandon Keller (Flowery Branch, GA/Flowery Branch), a junior offensive lineman; and Samuel Fowler (Cincinnati, OH/Northwest), a senior defensive back.

Kelly scored a team-high 68 points for the Mount this season, converting 11-of-13 feld goal attempts, and 35-of-39 extra points. The 11 field goals and 68
points established new season records for kickers at the Mount.

Seven Mount players were Second Team All-HCAC honorees. They are: junior running back Antonio Banks (Middletown, OH/Middletown); junior wide receiver John Peters (West Chester, OH/Lakota West); senior defensive lineman Russell Turner II (Fairfield, OH/Fairfield); senior defensive lineman Adam Bigelow (Cincinnati, OH/Anderson); junior linebacker Konnor Blevins (Cincinnati, OH/Lakota West); junior linebacker Brent McCleerey (Mooresville, IN/Monrovia); and senior punter Greg Tabar (Cincinnati, OH/Colerain).

Caleb Watkins (Middletown, OH/Middletown), a junior quarterback, was named Honorable Mention All-HCAC.

  Heartland Athletic Conference NCAA Mount St. Joseph University MSJ Lions